My TV week

It’s Friday, which means it’s time for a little look back at some of the things I watched this week…..

Glee, season 2 episode 3, “Grilled Cheesus”

You know, I think there’s a reason I’m not rushing to provide you with a detailed review every Tuesday morning, and that reason is a distinct lack of enthusiasm for this series so far. It’s just not lighting my fire. This week’s episode (full synopsis here) was really frustrating – there were some great moments but on the whole I found it REALLY ANNOYING. Here are my thoughts:

The Good Stuff

  • Kurt. He’s long been my favourite character, and Chris Colfer’s performance in this episode was great (I’m so pleased he won the Golden Globe). Kurt’s rendition of  “I Wanna Hold Your Hand” was stunning and brought a tear to my eye.
  • “I did a book report on heart attacks if you want to give it the doctor. It got knocked down an entire letter grade cuz it was written in crayon” – Brittany
  • Grilled Cheesus
  • “You can’t prove that there isn’t a magic teapot floating around on the dark side of the moon with a dwarf inside of it that reads romance novels and shoots lightning out of its boobs, but it seems pretty unlikely, doesn’t it?” ” … Is God an evil dwarf?” – Kurt and Brittany
  • Finn’s constant expression of brainless bewilderment.

The Bad Stuff

  • Now, Glee’s not renowned for its subtlety I know, but boy was it heavy handed this week. I felt like I was being hit over the head with the God mallet.
  • The bit where Mercedes finally seems to accept Kurt’s atheism, then passive-aggressively tells him off for pushing her away (HIS DAD’S IN A COMA AND YOU PRAYED AT HIS BEDSIDE AGAINST KURT’S WISHES!) before badgering him to go to church with her – UGH. (Loved Kurt’s hat in church though)
  • The song choices (“I Wanna Hold Your Hand” excepted) – all dull as filing. They even managed to make me yawn through “Losing My Religion” and “Bridge Over Troubled Water” (one of my most favouritest songs, evah!).

 

CSI, Tuesdays, C5

Good old original, proper Vegas CSI. I love it. This week’s episode wasn’t one of the best – the vampires and werewolves plot was just silly and Max Beesley was rather miscast as the leader of the vampire gang – and I still miss Grissom, but it’s still one of my favourite shows.

How TV Ruined Your Life, Tuesdays 10pm, BBC2

I really enjoyed Charlie Brooker’s new show. This week’s target was fear, ranging from public information films (terrifying at the time, hilariously funny now – although I’m still scared of pylons and railway lines), via Crimewatch to today’s rolling news. The “When Pens Get Hot” sketch (a spoof on those natural disaster dramatised documentaries) was genius.

National Television Awards, Wednesday, ITV

I am a sucker for awards shows, even when I know they’re going to make me cross, as the NTAs did this week. Ant & Dec won, AGAIN. Eastenders won, AGAIN. Benedict Cumberbatch and Matt Smith lost out to David Jason, and Waterloo Road beat Dr Who and Sherlock in the Best Drama category (WATERLOO ROAD!!). What is WRONG with people?

The Good Wife, Thursdays, More 4

I confess that I didn’t pay particularly close attention to last night’s episode (I blame Fruit Ninja), but I did like the character of Nancy Crozier – played by Mamie Gummer, Meryl Streep’s daughter. They have the exact same mouth – look: 

 

4 thoughts on “My TV week

  1. I’m still afraid of pylons too! Also getting hypothermia (does anyone else remember the marine staggering about in the snow?) but I remember how to help someone who may be suffering from it.

    I didn’t see that show, I’ll have to see if I can find it repeated somewhere.

    Love The Good Wife. Didn’t know she was Meryl Streep’s daughter.

  2. Oh, I hate Nancy Crozier! She was so awful to Alicia last series, with her whole “little girl lost, stab- you-in-the-back” act. She is a good actress, though, and I had no idea she was Meryl’s daughter! (Of course, I can see it now…) I think The Good Wife’s been very clever and intricately-plotted this season, if without as many shocking cases or personal tensions as last year. I suspect it’s all building to something…

  3. Loved the Charlie Brooker, although he didn’t include the ‘Dark Water’ ad, which is just terrifying.

    Have just this minute finished watching Glee and it annoyed the hell out of me and my goodness the songs were yawnsome. I too loved Kurt’s hat, however.

Leave a Reply

