Being Human Series 3 Episode 1 : Lia

Sundays, BBC Three, 9pm.

Warning: SPOILERS AHEAD.

Well as series openers go I think last night’s Being Human episode was pretty fantastic. In the space of an hour they managed to make me laugh, cry and feel genuinely worried about what was going to happen to the characters I’ve grown to love over the past two series. On top of this they brought in a whole host of guest stars and introduced plot threads that look likely to twist throughout the entire season. Not a bad start really!

Plotwise I felt that there was a good balance between carrying on from the end of series two and introducing new stories. In short, Mitchell travelled to save Annie from purgatory but first had to face the crimes he’d commited in the past ably guided by Lia, who turned out to be one of his victims from the train massacre of series two. Once he was thoroughly guilt ridden he was allowed to save Annie but with the warning that he would be killed by “a wolf shaped bullet”. George and Nina had settled back into their relationship and were trying to prepare for the forthcoming full moon in their new surroundings. While George was scouting for suitable locations he managed to get mistaken for a dogger and locked up just hours before his transformation was due. Quick talking from Nina narrowly avoided George transforming in a police cell and eating Rob, spokesman for the doggers. Too late to find safe and separate locations to transform they settled for safe, and it seems turned to werewolf sex instead of killing each other. Whilst all this was going on to our regular characters we met McNair, a tough, manly werewolf who was kidnapped by a gang for a werewolf fight club. His son, yet another werewolf, turned up as the gang leader, a vampire, was taunting McNair and staked him to rescue his father. Mitchell returned with Annie, who still has Lia’s suggestion that they would make a wonderful couple and their getting together would be fate on her mind.

With so much going on in the episode it’s hard to pick my favourite bits, but I’ll give it my best shot!

  • Lia – I thought Lacey Turner was brilliant as Lia. The characters was interesting and well used, and she got to plant two potentially significant threads for the rest of the series.
  • McNair – Never did I expect to find Robson Green playing a role that I found so engaging. I’m really looking forward to seeing more of him, and his son, and finding out what their presence means for George and Nina.
  • George and Nina – I love the relationship here and am so happy to see them finding a way to make their situation work. There is such good chemistry between the actors and this makes their on screen partnership so wonderful to watch.
  • Annie’s return – The sequence when Annie returned home was beautiful. I found myself shedding a tear or two along with the characters as they welcomed her back.
  • Vincent – Paul Kaye’s turn as the vampire leader of the werewolf fight club was brilliant, I understand why Tom had to stake him but I do wish we could have seen a bit more of Vincent.
  • Bob – I always enjoy seeing Kai Owen on my tv, and his Being Human role was a wonderful change from his more familiar appearances as Rhys in Torchwood.

I’m looking forward to next week’s episode already. With the hints Lia was dropping and the two pairs of werewolves becoming aware of each other I’m sure there’s great stuff in store for us. Oh yes, and Herrick still has to make his return!

What did you think of the episode? What were your favourite bits?

{pic}

2 thoughts on “Being Human Series 3 Episode 1 : Lia

  1. Great review Jenni, really spot on. My favourite bit was at the end, when George and Nina think that Mitchell’s mission was unsuccessful, and then George sees the tea being poured….I’m welling up even thinking about it now!

    Lacey Turner was brilliant – even though I detest Eastenders I always thought she was a great actress, and she really brought a spark to this episode. Will we be seeing more of her? I liked Robson Green in Wire in the Blood, and I’m looking forward to finding out more about his character (and his son).

  2. Pingback: Being Human Series 3 Episode 2 : Adam’s Family. « TV Canary

Leave a Reply

